Chet Faker – Built On Glass

Chet Faker’s (Nick Murphy) latest and greatest debut album Built on Glass was finally released last friday. Fans related all too well to his track called ‘Lesson in Patience’ as they eagerly consumed his husky chants after waiting 2 years. This Melbournian bearded man has done it again, infusing alternative electronic beats with steady, mellow R’n’B vocals to create a deliciously truthful track.

Chet Faker’s gloomy blues about his recent break-up, indulge the first 6 tracks. But, from the oddball track titled ‘ / ’onwards, a feeling of liberation seems to shine through. His silky smooth rendition lets your mind fall into comfortable electro-soul grooves. This album no doubt shares the same effortless style as his other singles. There’s an honesty in his lyrics, which ooze out of a crazy easygoing tempo. Murphy’s haunting vibes make it impossible not to listen to it on repeat.

The future’s looking pretty bright for this big soulful guy with Chet Faker already swiftly rising to #1 on the Australian iTunes Album chart, proving his electro-soul jams are attention-worthy. Right now, Mr. Murphy is crooning his way ‘round the world with a total of 42 upcoming shows.

What are you waiting for? Go check him out!

1. Release Your Problems
2. Talk is Cheap
3. No Advice (Airport Version)
4. Melt (feat. Kilo Kash)
5. Gold
6. To Me
7. /
8. Blush
9. 1998
10. Cigarettes & Loneliness
11. Lesson in Patience
12. Dead Body


Hometown: Melbourne, Australia.
Latest album: Built on Glass released 11 April 2014.
Sounds like: James Blake, Flume.
Say what? Chet Faker: “I text LOL to my mum….lots of love”

Je suis la imaginer, Imogen.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *